Skip to main content
Events and Messages

SON’s Laverne Myers receives 10th-annual Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award

Laverne Myers is the recipient of the 10th-annual Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award. She is executive assistant to Elizabeth Merwin, PhD, RN, FAAN, executive vice dean of the School of Nursing.

Myers, a Duke employee for 31 years, received the award on March 9, 2017, at a luncheon and ceremony at the Doris Duke Center at Sarah P. Duke Gardens. She received a framed certificate and a $600 check toward a weekend getaway for her and a guest.

The prestigious honor, established in 2007, is awarded annually to a Duke Health administrative professional who demonstrates the qualities exemplified by Clark during her sterling 33-year career: dedication to the institution, service to others, and personal strength of character.

"Laverne fulfills her duties with pride and in an outstanding manner," said A. Eugene Washington, MD, Duke Chancellor for Health Affairs and president and CEO of Duke University Health System. "She is a role model to all, regardless of rank, position or title within as well outside the Duke organization. She encourages others to take advantage of opportunities and become a role model for all staff. Duke, and those with whom she's worked over the years, have benefited in countless ways from her service."


Other nominees for the award included Jaime Cooke, staff assistant in the Department of Anesthesiology; Amanda Garcia, clinical coordinator in the Department of Surgery, Division of Vascular Surgery; Linda Sellers, administrative specialist in Duke Regional Hospital Corporate Administration; Lorraine Whitted, administrative assistant in the Heart Center; Barbara Wilkins, administrative assistant in DUHS Clinical Education and Professional Development; and Donna Wimberley, senior administrative assistant in the Department of Radiation Oncology.

"This year's pool of nominations was exceptional, as was the case in previous years. The quality of people here at Duke Health is tremendous," Washington said. "Every nominee was truly outstanding. I want to thank each and every one for their hard work and dedication to Duke Health."

Previous award winners include Suzy Johnson (2007), Sarah Woodard (2008), Cindy Day Crabtree (2009), Willa Bonner (2010), Tammy Tuck (2011), Debra Harris (2012), Kelly Macklin (2013), Anna Brodeur (2014), and Mary Greenway (2015).

Thursday, March 9, 2017, 7:00 pm
Events and Messages