Skip to main content

News & Media

News & Media Front Page

Klotman Named to Institute of Medicine


Duke Health News Duke Health News

DURHAM, N.C. – Mary E. Klotman, M.D., chairwoman of the Department of Medicine at the Duke University School of Medicine, has been elected as one of 70 new members to the prestigious Institute of Medicine (IOM). Klotman is an expert in infectious diseases and the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV).

“Election to the Institute of Medicine is considered one of the highest honors in medicine,” said Nancy C. Andrews, M.D., Ph.D., dean of Duke University School of Medicine. “Dr. Klotman’s election is a notable achievement and recognition of her important contributions as a leader and as a physician-scientist focused on the molecular pathogenesis of HIV-1 infection.”
Klotman is also a professor of medicine, pathology, and molecular genetics and microbiology. Her research team has demonstrated the direct role of HIV genes in the pathogenesis of HIV-associated nephropathy, a devastating complication of HIV infection. Her team also has sought to identify antiviral host factors involved in transmission and control of HIV.

Klotman attended Duke University for both her undergraduate degree in zoology (1976) and her medical degree (1980) and then completed her internal medicine residency and a fellowship in infectious diseases in the Department of Medicine at Duke.

She started her career at Duke in 1985 as an associate faculty member in medicine, before moving to the National Institutes of Health, where she was a member of the Public Health Service. At NIH, she trained and worked in the Laboratory of Tumor Cell Biology under the direction of renowned HIV researcher Robert C. Gallo, M.D.

Klotman joined the faculty at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York in 1994, serving as chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases for 13 years and as co-director of Mount Sinai’s Global Health and Emerging Pathogens Institute. In 2010, Klotman returned to Duke to chair the Department of Medicine.

New members to the IOM are elected by current active members through a selective process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health. 

Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the IOM is a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues.

News & Media Front Page